AIA California Council Announces 2012 Residential Design Award Winners

SACRAMENTO, CA— (November 5, 2012) The American Institute of Architects, California Council (AIA California Council) announces the winners of the first-ever AIACC Residential Design Awards. The winners were selected on Friday, November 2, following the end of the jury session held in San Francisco, CA.

The premier competition focused on highlighting projects and firms who shape the style of California architectural design, drawing entries from throughout the state and from firms of all sizes.  Executive Vice President of the AIA California Council Paul Welch Jr., Hon AIA,  emphasizes the importance of honoring California architects, saying  “We are pleased to recognize these residential. For most people, residential architecture readily accessible and each of these projects demonstrated – in a very tangible way – the real value of good design.”

The winners were awarded Honor and Merit awards for their work, and winners will be featured in The Architect’s Newspaper [lw1] . In addition, all winning projects will be featured in TRENDS[lw2]  magazine February 2012 print and e-book editions.

Complete information on the 2012 AIA California Council Residential Design Award winners can be found at All award-winning projects will take part in a traveling exhibition, featured at AIA chapters throughout California.


Winners of the Honor Award category are Valerio Dewalt Train for UCSD Rita Atkinson and Bohlin Cywinski Jackson for the Dry Creek Residence.

Winners of the Merit Award category are Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects for the Flynn Mews House and David Baker + Associates for the Richardson Apartments.

Winners of the Citation Award category are Aidlin Darling Design for the Paso Robles Residence, Daly Genikfor the Venice House, Jensen Architects for Walden Studios, Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects for Formosa 1140, and Jonathan Segal FAIA for The Charmer.

A Special Acknowledgement was bestowed on Studio EA for the 747 Wing House.

The premier jury included esteemed architects, designers, and critics from throughout California and Seattle, WA. The 2012 jurors include: Mary Johnston, FAIA, Johnston Architects; Tom Kundig, FAIA, Olson Kundig Architects; Elizabeth Ranieri, FAIA, Kuth/Ranieri Architects; and Anni Tilt, AIA, Arkin Tilt Architects.

The awards ceremony will take place on November 8, 2012, at SCI-Arc, located at 960 East 3rd Street, WM Keck Lecture Hall, Los Angeles. Winners will be awarded in conjunction with AIA California Council’s Design Award and Council Award recipients.

Open to both members and nonmembers whose projects reside in California or California architects who have completed work elsewhere, the 2012 Residential Design Awards program accepted projects where construction was completed after January 1, 2007.  The following types of residential dwellings were eligible for entry: Affordable Housing Units, Condominiums, Mobile Residences, Single Family Residences, and Multi-Family Residences.

For complete information on the AIA California Council 2012 Residential Design Awards, visit

West Coast Commercial Real Estate News